The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... » » When you were a complete beginner, who did you practice on? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MrHoudini666
View Profile
New user
66 Posts

Profile of MrHoudini666
I've managed to convince a couple of friends to let me hypnotize them... and maybe my mom as well, lol!

But how else am I supposed to find subjects? What I really want is practice hypnotizing strangers, because that is ultimately my goal (become a stage hypnotist).
Mindpro
View Profile
Eternal Order
10069 Posts

Profile of Mindpro
Often times trying to hypnotize family and friends is more difficult than working with complete strangers, as they don't take you seriously and know you (not as a hypnotist). Also it's hard to get a true reading or gauge of response from family and friends as they will either have a tendency to try to "play along", or will end up not being serious. It's also not good at all that you had to "convince them" to let you do this.
MrHoudini666
View Profile
New user
66 Posts

Profile of MrHoudini666
Yes, those are all weak points where my situation is concerned... That is why I was asking for advice on finding volunteers.
Mindpro
View Profile
Eternal Order
10069 Posts

Profile of Mindpro
One of the methods I suggest to the students I train, coach or mentor is to post an ad or fliers seeking people (subjects) who wish to to be hypnotized who would like to participate in demonstrations of relaxation and suggestibility... Find or rent a decent non-threatening location and conduct this very professionally like a focus group or professional survey.

There are a few more particulars to it than that but that is the general idea. This allows you many opportunities and possibilities.