The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Smooth as silk » » Are all silks this much!!! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

paisa23
View Profile
Inner circle
7293 Posts

Profile of paisa23
New to silk magic, saw a David Ginn Lecture this weekend and bought one of his routines minus the $99 6ft silk. Just wondering since I'm new to it and wanna have a BIG SILK finish to the effect, should I expect them to always be that high?
Donald Dunphy
View Profile
Inner circle
Victoria, BC, Canada
7565 Posts

Profile of Donald Dunphy
$99 is on the low side for a 6' x 6' silk. At some dealers, they are $125 - $150. These are the new 6' silks that are mass produced (rabbit in hat, dragon, clown face, butterfly).

There are also 36" versions of the same designs that are mass produced. They range from $30 to $40, depending where you buy them.

(A 6' silk is 4x the amount of silk as a 36" silk.)

The original 6' x 6' silks, before these new mass produced ones, were around $300+, I think. I bought a used 6' Rice's Dragon silk for $100, and it was a good deal. Look through sites like Rice's and P&A to get some perspective about prices of larger silks.

I bought a new 6' x 6' tie dye silk from Richard Hughes for around $200 years ago, and it was a great deal for the quality and workmanship.

I'm happy to invest in some quality products for my show that have a great impact.

- Donald
Donald Dunphy is a Victoria Magician, British Columbia, Canada.
Darkwing
View Profile
Inner circle
Nashville Tn
1850 Posts

Profile of Darkwing
Go ahead and pay the money. With proper care, the silks will last longer than you will. They are a great investment for stage magic. They fold flat and play big.
ClintonMagus
View Profile
Inner circle
Southwestern Southeast
3997 Posts

Profile of ClintonMagus