The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » It amazes me that... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
trouser
View Profile
New user
Texas
82 Posts

Profile of trouser
Even the simplest effects can invoke such powerful reactions from people. I teach piano lessons on the side and I reward my students with a different magic trick at the end of each lesson. I have been teaching one family for 2 years now and it is becoming a little more challenging to keep coming back with a fresh trick each week. Especially since grad school eats up a lot of my free time (which I would use to practice). Well this week I realized I had never done spongeballs for them, so I whipped out a short, sweet, & simple routine at the end of the lesson and it knocked everyone out cold. I couldn't believe that despite all the other things I've performed for them (that I consider to be much more mystifying) like Fraud, WOW, Holy Moly, etc, that the family would comment that my simple spongeball routine was the best thing they'd ever seen me do. I'm never going to take the simple stuff for granted ever again!
Cyberqat
View Profile
Inner circle
You can tell I work on the net from my
2209 Posts

Profile of Cyberqat
Yup.

The big lesson here is that what impresses us is not the same as what impresses they layman.

We are impressed by technique of the magician, cleverness in design, bullet-proof-ness of the illusion, and of course how hard it is to learn.

Laymen are simply impressed by the result-- the illusion itself.

When I started learning an ID a serious card worker told me "you'll love and hate your ID. You will love it because its such a great illusion. You will hate it because it is so easy and yet it will impress laymen more then things you spent *months* learning." That was dead on.