The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Tectonics of... Mentalism and beyond (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
tkahng
View Profile
Regular user
102 Posts

Profile of tkahng
Well, here is the second thread I start.

I'm starting this thread because I am having some trouble coming up with my own stuff. and I would like to know how you guys approach the design of your routines, what you have in mind before you do, and where you get your inspiration from.

Many of the members here at the Café are renowned professionals. Some are semi-pros, and some, are amateurs, like me, who probably get a gig once ever two weeks for squat.

I hope it is safe to assume that the semi pros and amateurs here have a different profession, or are preparing to go pro on something different. In my case, I am an architecture student.

Before all you folks go off about how architecture might have nothing to do with mentalism or magic, let me tell you there are so many similarities.

1. The whole is greater than the sum of its parts. I do not need crazy props to create a compelling demonstration. I might be able to pull off something better with pieces of paper and an envelope than with a $300 book test. (Although I own that particular BT).

2. Our clients determine what we do. In both fields, the final product of our design in client specific. We simply do not bring out skulls and Ouija boards at a party.

3. Presentation is everything. No matter how good anything is in any field, if you can't sell it, you don't get paid for it.

4. A good architectural design may have intricate layering and stacking of programs, just like a good mentalism routine.

And the list goes on.