The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Gaffed & Funky » » Name and origins of this trick? spectator names the only card in the deck with an X written on it. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Elliott Hodges
View Profile
Veteran user
England
324 Posts

Profile of Elliott Hodges
Hi Guys,

I've been using this trick in my professional work for a few years now and has never ceased to get as good reaction. It has fooled many magicians.
as I said in the title, you ask a spec to name a card, take the card out of the deck and it is found to be the only card with a big fat X written across it. It's much like invisible deck.

I learnt it out of a Nick Einhorn book but he doesn't know where it comes from originally.
It's a cracking trick and have hardly seen anyone else do it.

Anyone know where this is from?

cheers
Steven Keyl
View Profile
Inner circle
Washington, D.C.
2630 Posts

Profile of Steven Keyl
There are a number of effects in this genre. Typically, instead of an 'X' on the back of the card it is an odd-backed card, but those are just presentational differences.

The two effects that jump to mind are Michael Vincent's Brainwave My Way and Michael Close's Red Blue Mama Fooler, though the Vincent effect is newer than the Einhorn books.
Steven Keyl - The Human Whisperer!

B2B Magazine Test!

Best impromptu progressive Ace Assembly ever!

"If you ever find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause, and reflect." --Mark Twain
Spellbinder
View Profile
Inner circle
The Holy City of East Orange, NJ
6438 Posts

Profile of Spellbinder