The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Thayer nesting boxes (coin in ball of wool) plans (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
malcolm
View Profile
New user
currently Calgary, Canada
62 Posts

Profile of malcolm
I'm interested in building a set of nesting boxes for the coin-in-ball-of-wool-in-boxes illusion. Does anyone know where I can find plans for this? I'd be interested in making a set similar to the old Thayer Magic ones (http://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/thayer-magic-coin-in-ball-of-wool).
I'm an amateur cabinet-maker so I'll be making them myself, but I need rough plans to be able to make them!
Any help would be wonderful.
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22797 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
Owen Magic own the rights to Thayer Magic products, you will have to contact them for your request. Although, smaller magic effects on the market, do not have workshop plans, they are passed down or taken from previously built tricks.

http://www.owenmagic.com

They still make and sell this trick, as of 2005 it sells for $450.00, will have increased in price by now. Contact them for the currentl price.
Spellbinder
View Profile
Inner circle
The Holy City of East Orange, NJ
6438 Posts

Profile of Spellbinder
The coin or ring in ball of wool can be accomplished without resorting to trick boxes. See my "Ring into Nest of Boxes - Revisited" in The Wizards' Journal # 11 on my site for details. That means you can concentrate on making a beautiful set of wooden nesting boxes with no need for plans as long as one box fits inside the other... or you can get a set of cardboard nesting boxes to act as templates if you need dimensions, etc. In my version, the magic is "outside the box." No need to beg for permission, either!
Professor Spellbinder

Professor Emeritus at the Turkey Buzzard Academy of Magik, Witchcraft and Wizardry