The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » First Large Show-Need Some Ideas (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mahucharn
View Profile
Elite user
419 Posts

Profile of mahucharn
Hello All,

I am a current high school student, and have been asked to perform at my high school's talent show in the auditorium. Here's my problem: all of my magic revolves around cards and coins (close up stuff), and I do not think that the tricks I know will work for a semi-large audience of around 300 people (the largest I will have performed for). I still have around 5 months to prepare for the show.

I am only allowed to perform for 5-7 minutes. Do any of you have some ideas on a few illusions that can be performed in front of a large audience (preferably low-medium budget)? What are some sources that I can use to purchase the necessary items/instructions?

Thank you all for your ideas.
-Mahucharn
Richard L.
View Profile
New user
43 Posts

Profile of Richard L.
Are you looking to do a silent act or more stand-up type material?
magicians
View Profile
Inner circle
Teacher and Legend
2898 Posts

Profile of magicians
Don't go too far out of your element. Illusions are not necessary and if you are buying it for a show, you will not get the reaction you want. How many minutes do you have?
Next, you can do cards across, simple ring routine, or jumbo card effects and get the same bang for your buck.
Illusionist, Illusionist consulting, product development, stage consultant, seasoned performer for over 35 years. Specializing in original effects. Highly opinionated, usually correct, and not afraid of jealous critics. I've been a puppet, a pirate, a pawn and a King. Free lance gynecologist.
iPerform
View Profile
New user
Perfection Valley
2 Posts

Profile of iPerform