The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Slickness of Kennedy halves (faces/backs)? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ljsviol
View Profile
Veteran user
346 Posts

Profile of ljsviol
For coin work, I've got both a set of nicely-worn Walking Liberty halves, and some Kennedy halves (copper-nickel clad) I got from the local bank.

The Walking Liberty halves have a nice sense of 'grab' to my fingers, even though the surfaces are worn away. When I practice with the Kennedy halves, I'm always struck by the 'slickness' of the coin faces/backs; it almost feels like there's a light coat of lacquer on the coin to make it slicker.

I'm relatively new to coin manipulation, and I know 'slickness' is a very subjective impression. I was wondering:

1. Is there anything in the manufacturing process to coat the coins, or something that would cause them to feel slick? Of course, it might just be the copper-nickel metal and stamping process. I looked around online, but didn't find any information.

2. Can anyone suggest methods to make them less slick/slippery? I tried a light brushing with toothpaste (mild abrasive) - it made the coin a bit more shiny -) but didn't change the feel. I've read on the Forum of ideas for roughing coins - it doesn't seem that I need to make them rougher, just change whatever makes them so slick (if that makes sense). -)

I might soaking one in a good solvent, to see if it has any useful effect.

Thanks for any information or ideas!

Larry S.
John T Cox
View Profile
Veteran user
384 Posts

Profile of John T Cox