The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Need a USP for Kids Shows (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Norden
View Profile
New user
Vancouver, BC
56 Posts

Profile of Norden
Hello KIDabra members!

I am looking for something new to add to the 'deluxe' style show I do for kids.

Other performers in my area have a USP it seems and it helps them. I have been doing this for 15 years and my USP is ME - great show, good price, lots of fun.

Another friend does the 'giant balloon' where he put the bday child in along with his own son who he does the show with. I was at his house the other night and I called a client back - she said she was going to talk to her husband. 10 minutes later she phoned my friend - he did his sales pitch (kinda funny right in front of each other) and our prices are about the same. I was $10 more than him.

Granted he brings a live dove, his son, backdrop, sound system, and the giant balloon. I also have been doing it longer and won the children's local award 5 years in a row.

The client said she would talk to her husband. Neither of us closed the sale. I followed up with an email as she had wanted her son 'cut in half' - I offered to include that in the show (using a comedy rope method). Well today she booked my buddy.

Thinking about all this I decided I need something in my 'deluxe' show that stands out. Something like a chair suspension (but not) or perhaps the Fantasy magician (but already done by a few) or having a live rabbit (no thanks).

I want it to pack small but of course play big (like Fantasy Magician).

Any thought folks??

Mike Norden
http://www.magicshows.ca
Daniel Ulzen
View Profile
Elite user
Berlin/Germany
493 Posts

Profile of Daniel Ulzen
Hi Mike,

maybe every child should get a dvd about how to learn magic tricks. I know out of experience that at least in germany kids (and adults) really like to get such a dvd.