The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Scripting (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

gabelson
View Profile
Inner circle
conscientious observer
2086 Posts

Profile of gabelson
If you live in Arizona, particularly within the Phoenix area, I have an announcement that may be of interest to you.

Aside from my career as a mentalist and magician, I have been writing for network television for the past 15 years. Having served as David Letterman's head monologue writer from 1996-2001, I have also written for "The Tonight Show", and other late night comedy/variety programs.

In addition to my writing career, I performed professionally around the world as a stand-up comic from 1980-1996, have worked alongside Jerry Seinfeld, Chris Rock, Eddie Murphy, Ray Romano, Mac King, Gerry McCambridge and countless others. My writing partner, Jeff Schimmel, has sold screenplays to Dreamworks and other major studios, and has also written for numerous television shows, such as "In Living Color".

Why do I bring this up? Well, next weekend, the 26th and 27th of February, we are conducting a two-day intensive writing seminar in Phoenix. Although the seminar will also cover screenwriting, television writing, and stand-up comedy, any performer in the magical arts who is interested in creating the tightest, strongest, most memorable script possible for their own act, will benefit immeasurably from this workshop. Every performer MUST know the ins and outs of character building, story arc, pacing, joke writing, and equally as important, what NOT to do on stage, if they are to succeed at the highest level. All the greatest magicians and mentalists are masters in the areas I just mentioned.