The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Believe it or not... » » Sword Swallowing, fire eating, and nail in nose. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Derkomai
View Profile
New user
16 Posts

Profile of Derkomai
I'm just learning random skills as a hobby and I would like to try sword swallowing. I've tried sticking my hand down my throat and noticed that I naturally have very good control of my gag reflex, I haven't gaged once from my hand. So how dangerous of a trick is sword swallowing? Are there any good books out there that teach it? And ditto qestions about fire eating.

Also, I'm curious about the nail in the nose trick, is this dangerous? Or, is it just a little uncomfortable to stick a nail up your nose?

Dorian
jennieprice
View Profile
Regular user
Quartzsite, Az
118 Posts

Profile of jennieprice
Go here. There's a lot of information on swords, fire & nails.
http://www.sideshow-freaks.com/sideshow_......ault.htm

Jennieprice Smile
DavidEscapes
View Profile
Inner circle
I'm Special!
1003 Posts

Profile of DavidEscapes
Hi Dorian

Firstly, sword swallowing takes a huge commitment that would make it out of reach to anyone but the most focused and patient, believe me! I am learning it right now and if it was just a hobby I would have given up long long ago. It is a messy, nasty, disgusting and painful process. It is also very dangerous. The main gag reaction comes from places you can't reach with your hand by the way Smile

Blockhead is a fair bit easier, though still not without its risks and difficulties, fire the same. All three can get you killed or at least badly injured. In fact all of them will injure you at the absolute best. Anyone who has done them for even a short length of time will have stories to tell.

Please please please don't try and learn from a book, find someone to teach you in person, and even then be careful who's advice you take.