The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Looking for a routine that "shrinks" a half to a quarter to a dime to a vanish (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

IllusionsMichael
View Profile
Loyal user
The name's Donnie. I know... bad username choice..
250 Posts

Profile of IllusionsMichael
I'm a hobbyist magician interested in finding a nice handling that will produce the effect of progressively squeezing a coin into oblivion. Specifically:

Show a half-dollar, and "squeeze" it into a quarter.
"Squeeze" the quarter into a dime.
"Squeeze" the dime into invisibility (vanish the dime).
Bring the half-dollar back and end clean.

The ideal routine for me is one that I can do sleeves up, no gimmicks, pure sleight of hand. I have a general idea of how I'd do it, but some of the crucial details are missing; I'd like to see how some professionals have handled what is surely an explored effect.

Thank you!
Michael Bluth: "So this is the magic trick, huh?"

Gob: "Illusion, Michael. Tricks are something a **** does for money."
dpe666
View Profile
Inner circle
2895 Posts

Profile of dpe666
Look in Bobo's. There are a couple of methods that you can put together in order to get what you want. Smile
J-Mac
View Profile
Inner circle
Ridley Park, PA
5338 Posts

Profile of J-Mac
What are your general ideas you mentioned?

Thanks!

Jim
IllusionsMichael
View Profile
Loyal user
250 Posts

Sorry if I was a little vague. As a newbie to the forum, I'm not sure how much detail is considered tasteful WRT revealing techniques or methods.

The way I envision this is to:

1. Explain that I'm about to demonstrate a feat of strength (or alchemy, or something).
2. Bobo switch the half dollar for a quarter while pattering about Vaudevilian strong-man shows (or whatever I chose above)
3. Come up with a justification for going to my pocket, ditch half, load dime.