The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Late to the Cassidy party (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

merlin1979
View Profile
Veteran user
Bottling the impossible
346 Posts

Profile of merlin1979
OK, so I've been doing magic for 20 years, and mentalism for 8 or so. I've read over the years many posts exhorting the greatness of the good Dr. Bob's wares, but somehow had never got around to reading them. In retrospect I suspect it was because I was always looking for the 'new best thing' on the market, and as a beginner was put off by the more ballsy methodology favoured by Mr Cassidy and his predecessors, like Annemann et al. Obviously I never found the effort-free miracle I was looking for and my mindset was more magician than mentalist (although I do not wish to reopen THAT can of worms here).

Then, a year or so ago, partially inspired by Elliot's brilliant Switchcraft, I picked up a copy of The Art of Mentalism. The gutsy approach to methodology, with minimal props, and the balls to say "I'm a midreader", all things which had scared me in the past, finally started to chip away at the wood of my brain. Having tried some of the billet work and appreciated anew the genius of Bob's routining and consistency of approach, I feel like I have discovered the 'real' part of this art. The fact is, this stuff works, and if one can only muster the courage to overcome magician's guilt, it has so much more impact than some of the proppy mental magic I've read and performed in the past.