The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Tomorrow is my first time competition (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

unclesamayen
View Profile
Elite user
Taiwan
463 Posts

Profile of unclesamayen
Hi my friends,

It is my first time competition tomorrow.
I'll compete in close-up venue in one of the biggest annual convention here in Taiwan.
I'm quite nervous and excited now.
How can I calm myself down?
Hope everything goes well!

YuYen
Comedy, Mental, Busking.
Performing magic for the blinds.
http://youtu.be/nW3O0nucQUI
Busking in Mong Kok
http://youtu.be/WqohXqTxRVU
Jonathan Townsend
View Profile
Eternal Order
Ossining, NY
27137 Posts

Profile of Jonathan Townsend
There are some exercises designed to help manage test anxiety - and those are likely described on websites - imagination exercises.

The competition is an interesting place to meet some very knowledgeable people and also see how others bring their best efforts for a demonstration under time/venue pressure. Bring your best self and make some friends there. In the mean time - besides the exercises you can go find a few audiences and watch them enjoy your routine by performing.
...to all the coins I've dropped here
Magnus Eisengrim
View Profile
Inner circle
Sulla placed heads on
1064 Posts

Profile of Magnus Eisengrim
All the best Yuyen. I'm looking forward to a full report of your experience--and, of course, your success.

John
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity.--Yeats
critter
View Profile
Inner circle
Spokane, WA
2551 Posts

Profile of critter
As JT mentioned there are good visualizations. Exercise has been shown to help with stress and anxiety.