The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Expert at the Card Table, for a beginner? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
TheGreatIni
View Profile
New user
27 Posts

Profile of TheGreatIni
A fairly simple question, I think. And I hope this is the board to put it in.

More or less, I'm a beginner at magic. I've mostly learned a couple of sleights and have a few tricks I've purchased here and there. One of the first things I got though, is a pocket copy of 'Expert at the Card Table'. However, I find I keep getting distracted when I try to read it. I realize some level of persistence is necessary, but I'm just curious if 'Expert' is a good book for a beginner who wants to learn card magic/manipulation, or is there a better place to start and to utilize 'Expert' as a resource once a better general understanding has been obtained?
The Burnaby Kid
View Profile
Inner circle
St. John's, Canada
3158 Posts

Profile of The Burnaby Kid
I'd say set the book on the shelf until you're ready for it. When you start learning about palms, card controls and false dealing, take the book off the shelf again. You didn't waste your money in picking it up, but you don't want to be hitting Advanced Calculus until well after you've mastered basic arithmetic.
JACK, the Jolly Almanac of Card Knavery, a free card magic resource for beginners.
TheGreatIni
View Profile
New user
27 Posts

Profile of TheGreatIni
Thanks, Mr. Musgrave. That was kind of what I thought. Could you recommend anything to help me get the basics? I was thinking of Royal Road, or that Joshua Jay book 'Amazing book of cards'.
Sid Mayer
View Profile
Special user
Santa Fe, NM
656 Posts

Profile of Sid Mayer