The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » The 'dreaded' shaky performer syndrome! Help!! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
vootrage
View Profile
Regular user
105 Posts

Profile of vootrage
Now... just to clear this up, I am not new to magic. I have been practicing for over 2 years now. BUT here is my problem. Whenever I perform the adrenaline gets pumping so hard that I begin to get very shaky hands. This makes it very difficult to perform. I have talked to other magicians and they say they had the same problem. Any advice on how to overcome it would be truly appreciated!
Jem
View Profile
Veteran user
Singapore
342 Posts

Profile of Jem
Hi vootrage,

I have found myself in the exact same position as you many times when performing, so I perfectly understand what you are talking about. There were times (when I first started out) when I wondered to myself if I was the only guy in the world who had this problem of shakiness. Even up till now, I still feel the adrenaline rush and the "trembles" whenever I perform, but I have realized that it is less serious than when I was just starting out.

I would love to tell you that the shakiness can be eliminated overnight, but sadly, I guess it only comes through months & years of experience. I've been into magic for about 1 year only, and I still get nervous now and then, but its getting better as I progress. The more you perform for as many different people as possible, the more confident you become, and the less frightened you would feel.

Hope this helps. All the best to you!
vootrage
View Profile
Regular user
105 Posts

Profile of vootrage
Thank you for your response JEM. If anyone else has had this problem PLEASE POST!
Leon of PrimRose
View Profile
New user
mayfield, new york
69 Posts

Profile of Leon of PrimRose