The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricks & Effects » » Kartis Okito Box (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

volto
View Profile
Special user
603 Posts

Profile of volto
Review: (I'm an amateur so please bear that in mind). If you use an Okito/boston/whatever box, this is well worth a look. It's useable as a normal Okito/Boston box but it has a couple of nifty extra features that greatly increase the scope of box routines. It's half-dollar sized (the size is important for some routines).

I felt that I was taking a risk on buying this item, since it seemed from the 'meh' youtube demo to be a straightforward Okito box, albeit with a slightly angular shape. The demo video is Mr Tango using a normal Tango Okito box to do apparently the same move three times. To be clear: that's not a demo of the Kartis box. The Kartis box is different. I'm very glad I bought it; the box design is novel - in fact, unique, as far as I'm aware (I own 12 boxes in 9 different types - which is a lot less than some - so I may be wrong). The DVD of routines that comes with the box is excellent. It's presented by Kartis, with both a Spanish and English soundtrack, and contains the following routines:

Twenty coins - Part of Kartis' FISM routine. The DVD opens with the performance of this routine and closes with the explanation. Twenty coins are apparently produced from the box (which is shown empty at various points in the routine) and finally stacked on top of each other in the box, in a great comedy moment, clearly showing the impossibility of what just happened. Great routine, using the major novel feature of the box.

Hand to hand - Very clean transposition of four coins from one hand to another involving several subtleties.

Thru table - workable coin through table using a common feature of many coin boxes.