The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Portable Lighting Setup (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Matt Adams
View Profile
Special user
Harvest, AL
827 Posts

Profile of Matt Adams
Hey guys, I'm new to the lighting field and want some input. Most of my gigs consist of church stages. Some of the smaller to medium-sized churches do not have very good lighting for magic. It's basically house lights and a couple floods on the stage. Very bright and makes IT work impossible even with my mylar backdrop. Here's what I'm considering:

http://www.activemusician.com/item--MC.SC4PKG

The description says:
Powerful portable lighting system includes (2) IC4 stage lighting modules. Each has 4 bright 300 watt lamps powering red, yellow, blue and green dichroic glass filters. Built-in dimmers. Includes color-mix controller with 9 pre-programmed color combinations, master dimmer, chase and manual color-mixing. Includes 4-pedal easy foot controller, 2 tripod stands and cables.

Please spare the abuse as I ask the oh-so generic, "Will this work for me?" Smile I plan to set these up, one on either side of my performance space, and position them as close to the McCandless method as I can. I also plan to use ONLY these to light the stage and have the house lights turned completely off. I may purchase a follow-spot too, if necessary. Advice?

Thoughts on this system and on my idea?

Instagram: @mattadamsministries

Facebook: www.facebook.com/mattadamsministries
Matthew W
View Profile
Inner circle
New York
2456 Posts

Profile of Matthew W
Musicians Friend has a programmable system for $500 that has 8 par cans, two tree stands and a truss bar. With the included board you can program different light shows, and I believe even program moving fixtures.
-Matt
sb
View Profile
Special user
567 Posts

Profile of sb