The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » No experience, wish to build a "portrait illusion" (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Illusionist of the Mind
View Profile
New user
62 Posts

Profile of Illusionist of the Mind
I have ZERO experience with making or presenting grand illusions. But I was sitting thinking the other day about what I'd want to do for a competition act next year, and I began listening to the song "Portrait of my Love" by Steve Lawrence. I'm sure many of you will have seen a similar illusion before:

Magician talks about love, magic and romantic dreams, then begins painting a picture of a beautiful woman he loves. Then the woman is transformed into the real thing; often via blanket.

Now I have a basic, and I mean seriously basic understanding of grand illusion. I am a good Mentalist, but when it comes to making women appear all I can suggest is a dec*****e b*** and that's about the only method I know. Now I am aware that Grand Illusion is hard - but I am young, and I am a good performer (modesty aside for a moment) and I do believe I can do the art of Grand Illusion justice. I want to present something which touches both myself and the audience. I've never considered presenting a "magic" bit before in my life, I have always done mind reading. But the idea, the concept of this illusion, and thought of doing it with the girl I love (unrequited...) stires something in me; maybe its indigestions. She is a drama studant and actress, who definitely looks the part and is 5'5" tall, so I believe she is a good size for these things (if that matters at all, as I say, real amateaur). She has agreed to perform with me, and I know she can be good; but my lack of knowledge really worries me!

Please, I would appreciate all the help I can get. My main concerns are:

1. How to engage the audience's emotions

2. How to make her appear in a 'apparantly visual' way