The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Tip Over Box - My first try at making one. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Floyd Collins
View Profile
Inner circle
Ohio
1633 Posts

Profile of Floyd Collins
Hello All,

This is my first attempt at creating my own illusion prop since I was in scouts and my dad helped me build my first square and circle for a scouting show I did, I was 10 at the time and after doing this project my gosh I did not give my dad enough credit for helping build my first illusion.

So let me give you some background as to why I built this prop. I received a call from the local parks department asking if I would be willing to help with a fund raiser this summer, because of funding cut the parks needing money for little league diamonds.

I agreed and asked what type of show they would like, while talking to the guy he said it would be neat if I produced a very old collectors baseball that they would be selling for a donation bids the next day.

I knew there were many ways to do the production but I wanted this to be special and include a childhood story of losing my first baseball that I treasured. Really get the emotions going for this baseball sale. This got me thinking of how I could do this, and I recalled many years ago reading someplace about a box that could do what I needed.

I found a pre-made box at our local craft store that I felt would be perfect for this prop. Good thing too because no way do I have the talent to make a box look this good.

Not being a prop builder I turned to the Café here and asked Michael Baker for help, someone who I have read a lot of his posts on building props and over the years checked out many of the fine props that he has created.