The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Shows (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

JustinDavid
View Profile
Veteran user
370 Posts

Profile of JustinDavid
Hey guys.. I have a few questions. Well for one.. when I first started in magic I was a busker.. I used to love to walk around and do "street" magic for everyone. Then I realized I needed to make a little more money so I started doing regular shows.

Well I'm not getting that many bookings this month and next.. and honestly I'm 17 and I graduated last year. I'm trying to buy myself a car and I want to start doing shows in the park. Any advice on routines?.. Length.. how to get people to watch?.. I know it's been discussed before but I kind of need specifics.. and anyone that helps I genuinly appreciate it.

Is there really good money in it?.. I live in jersey.. but I'm a train ride away from central park and washington square park.. thanks again guys..

Justin David
Newly renovated and ready to be explored:

www.JustinDavidMagic.com
Doug Conn
View Profile
Loyal user
212 Posts

Profile of Doug Conn
David,

There's a pretty big "learning curve" from beginner to paying a car note. The money can be good (real good at times) but it's been my experience (and that of most other magi-buskers I've seen/met) that it'll take awhile (a few months - few years) before the 'big bucks' come in.

Advice: Develop a 10 minute act and do it all day long. Rinse, repeat. Meanwhile, keep thinking Smile , practicing Smileand smiling. Smile

regards,
Doug Conn
http://www.dougconn.com
JustinDavid
View Profile
Veteran user
370 Posts

Profile of JustinDavid
LOL .. rinse and repeat.. haha..

Thanks..

Justin

www.JustinDavidMagic.com
Twisted_Reality
View Profile
New user
64 Posts

Profile of Twisted_Reality
Justin,