We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Propless tricks (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

esp0000
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of esp0000
Hi, I am new to magic. Are there any good books or dvds that focus on tricks that don't really need props, so you could theoretically do it anytime any place?

Thanks
Athelus
View Profile
New user
Aberdeen, Scotland
59 Posts

Profile of Athelus
It depends on your definition of props. I walk around with at least 3 packs of cards on me at any time, so I'm always ready to do something. Most people have loose change on them or notes so coin/money magic is a possibility.

If your willing to carry a pack of cards or loose change then a good book to start with is Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic. It has a little of everything so you can try various areas of magic to see what appeals to you most.

~Stewart
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
55Hudson
View Profile
Special user
Minneapolis
981 Posts

Profile of 55Hudson
Esp0000,

Yes. There are many books available that can help you become a magician - that is be able to perform amazing things at any given time with ordinary objects. See the sticky post at the very top of the New To Magic section. You will see books recommended like Mark Wilson's book mentioned above along with Now You See It, Now You Don't, The Magic Book, and many others.

Good luck!

Hudson
yabi
View Profile
New user
Cherry Hill, NJ
92 Posts

Profile of yabi
You might also want to check out Card College Light, Roberto Giobbi's first text focused entirely on professional caliber card tricks requiring no manipulative skill.

Have fun,
y.
Kyle Elder
View Profile
Regular user
Fresno, California
114 Posts

Profile of Kyle Elder