The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Steel core coins vs Magnetic? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
drewski
View Profile
New user
52 Posts

Profile of drewski
Hey guys,

I'm completely new to playing with shimmed coins and was wanting some input on the pros and cons of using either steel core coins vs magnetic coins?

I'm looking to add a few simple coin vanish effects for my close-up routines using my PK ring or a magnet concealed inside my coat pocket. Does anyone have any input? Also, can anyone suggest a resource that has some inexpensive coins that I could pick up?

Thanks in advance, fellas!
rklew64
View Profile
Inner circle
1263 Posts

Profile of rklew64
Part of me would like to share the distinctions between the 2 and part of me would like to see you gain the experience and insight so that you can answer your own question.
I choose the latter please.
drewski
View Profile
New user
52 Posts

Profile of drewski
Well, clearly the distinction is that one is gaffed with a magnet, while the other one is clearly an un-magnetized steel core coin that would stick to a magnet. All I'm asking for are some simple pro's and con's on the usage and maneuverability of each. I'm not asking for you to expose any routines or techniques nor am I asking for a routine or technique. I'm just requesting friendly insight.
David Neighbors
View Profile
V.I.P.
4840 Posts

Profile of David Neighbors
It depends On what you are going to use it for! Smile But if you Are just going to be loading it on and off A magnetic Hold out. I would Get A steal core coin! they Sound better!( Or the ones I have got From Lassen DO anyway!:)) And you don't have to remember What side You need to have It on to make it stick to the hold out! And for me anyway That's the best part, Less Stuff to Remember! Smile
David Neighbors

The Coinjurer

www.coinjurer.com
Bob Magic
View Profile
New user