The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » From Soup to Nuts » » A new way to buy magic and save money (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jamie Ferguson
View Profile
Inner circle
Alba Gu Bràth
3640 Posts

Profile of Jamie Ferguson
I've found a way to save a lot of money when buying magic. Here's the skinny.....

Last month I ordered the latest and greatest from a 'reputable' dealer who took two weeks to post the trick even though I paid for next day delivery.

When I posted about it here on the Café I was met with 'we can't find your name on the database so you must be lying, we always deliver' etc etc.

So I decided to try a new approach.

At work, as a production manager, I often put projects out to 3 companies to get their proposal and best price. I decided to apply the same approach to buying magic.

I sent an email to three well known dealers (all on the same email). I listed the four things I wanted to buy and a date by which I wanted them delivered by. I gave the dealers 24 hours to respond with their best prince including p&p. I couldn't believe it, I received a price 25% less than the total asking price on any of the sites.

I tried this approach for two further orders and saved at least 20% every time. One of the orders did arrive late as it wasn't posted same day as promised so I wrote to that dealer and told them I wouldn't be giving them my business any more.

I was going to keep all of this to myself but decided to share it on the Café. I believe if others try this it will result in a win/win/win situation. The best dealers will win more business, the substandard dealers will need to raise their game and the customer receives a better price and service as a result.

I have calculated I will save £200 - £300 a year by taking this approach.
When the chips are down, the duvet is uncomfortable.
Jim Sparx
View Profile
Inner circle
Far Out, Texas
1144 Posts

Profile of Jim Sparx