The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Mentalism is not for everyone (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
unclesamayen
View Profile
Elite user
Taiwan
459 Posts

Profile of unclesamayen
Hello everyone,

It is what I'm thinking and I wanna know your thought.

Today, I went out on the street and I wanna practice my new mentalism effect.
I've done street magic many times since 7 years ago but it's my first time trying to do mentalism.
I was looking for my audience but I couldn't.
I saw some children, but I thought the children are not appropriate cause they don't understand why I will read their mind.
I saw some guys, but I thought they don't like their mind to be read cause they looked full of conceit.
I stood there and watch several people passed, but I couldn't find suitable audience.

This make me think, the mentalism is not for everyone.
Or could I say, the range of audience of mentalism is smaller than other kind of magic.

How is your opinion?
Thank you for your answers.

YuYen
Comedy, Mental, Busking.
Performing magic for the blinds.
http://youtu.be/nW3O0nucQUI
Busking in Mong Kok
http://youtu.be/WqohXqTxRVU
bevbevvybev
View Profile
Inner circle
UK
2674 Posts

Profile of bevbevvybev
You can do mentalism for anyone. It is up to them to decide if they are the right audience, and for you to perform.

The best thing is, they will probably have never seen mentalism before, but they will definitely have seen magic.

Which means even for people who look like the 'wrong' people, they may be much more amazed than if you just did something 'normal', like a magic trick.

Stop thinking and start doing!
afinemesh
View Profile
Inner circle
Senseless gibberish that amounts to
2621 Posts

Profile of afinemesh
Quote:
On 2012-07-29 10:50, bevbevvybev wrote: