The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Book/DVD Recommendation for sleight (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

malfy
View Profile
New user
5 Posts

Profile of malfy
Hello all,

I'm looking for recommendations to PURCHASE a book or dvd on sleight.

The only magic I perform is thread work with common everyday objects. I have little or no experience with sleight, or objects like coins and cards, and in fact I avoid them.

Specifically I have an idea for a trick, where I would need to perform a swap, (one object to a different object) both being about the size of a matchbox. *****NOTE: The purpose of this description is so that YOUR recommendation for me will be more accurate!!****

A book/dvd that only teaches sleight for cards, may not contain useful information for me so I have included the 'swap description' for the BEST possible recommendation. It is NOT my intention to attempt to "fish secrets" for a specific trick.

I reiterate, I WANT TO BUY A BOOK/DVD on sleight. If you know of one that teaches excellent technique for swapping objects in this fashion, THAT is the book/dvd I am interested in.

Book/dvd recommendations ONLY please.

Thanks all!
pepka
View Profile
Inner circle
Uh, I'm the one on the right.
5041 Posts

Profile of pepka
It's difficult to make a recommendation when we don't know exactly what you have in mind. But you might want to take a look at both volumes of The Art of Close-up magic by Lewis Ganson or Sach's Sleight of Hand.
cirrus
View Profile
Inner circle
his minions made
1751 Posts

Profile of cirrus
The three books I recommend to every beginner:

Royal Road to Card magic (all the card sleights you will ever need)
13 steps to mentalism
Hugard's magic manual (to get all the other sleights)

You have a whole collection of magic for your whole life in these 3 books.
Zombie Magic
View Profile
Inner circle
I went out for a beer and now have
8733 Posts