The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Some Beginner Questions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magic15man
View Profile
New user
new jersey
4 Posts

Profile of magic15man
I am basically a beginner but I know a lot of tricks and sleights but I just haven't perfected them all. I was just wondering about what are some good tricks to do in school or on the street that have not really a good chance of getting caught and that you don't really need to perfect to get a good effect with them. Also, I was wondering if anyone has their own way of practicing because it would really help me out...Thanks!!! Smile Smile Smile
the magic is not in the magician...but in the spectator
jlareau
View Profile
Loyal user
Henrietta NY / Chicago Ill
220 Posts

Profile of jlareau
Magic15man,

I notice that this is your first post, so let me be the first to welcome you to the Café. You'll find a great deal of resources here to help your magic flourish! (Pun intended!)

The question you ask is a very broad one. First let me start by asking you what type of magic are you interested in or have had some experience with? Personally, I started with cards and would recommend anything on the Michael Ammar Easy to Master Card Miracles volumes. In those videos you will find a wonderful assortment of easy-to-perform card trick that are not only great tricks, but great practice as well.

I would also suggest buying The Royal Road to Card Magic by Jean Hugard to help you get aquainted with the basics of card technique.

Some notes on practice methods:
  • Don't try to learn too much at once. Start with one or two tricks and COMPLETELY MASTER THEM. A good magician does not need to know lots of tricks, but he/she does need to be able to perform his/her tricks very well.