The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I'm a real boy! » » Working with fiberglass (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

rcav8r
View Profile
New user
8 Posts

Profile of rcav8r
I've been rereading "Figure making can be fun?", and have a couple of questions.

First, why not make a fiberglass mold directly over the clay model? in other words, skip the rubber.

And is there a reason one can't use silicone spray directly on the clay for a mold release?
damien666
View Profile
Special user
canada
513 Posts

Profile of damien666
I have not read the book you are referring to but I have extensive experience with all sorts of mold making techniques, so I will try to answer your question.
You can certainly make a fiberglass mold directly on a clay sculpt.. The thing you have to keep in mind is what the final piece will be cast out of. If you are going to make the end puppet out of a flexible material, you will have no problems pulling that out of a rigid fiberglass mold. If, however, you will making the puppet out of a rigid material, you will most likely want a flexible mold.. Otherwise, if your sculpture has undercuts, your rigid puppet 'skin' will get permanently locked into the mold..
There is a good rule to follow: for a rigid casting, use a flexible mold; for a flexible casting, use a rigid mold!
Good luck with your puppet making!
Damien
http://www.puppetsandgore.com
maps
View Profile
Inner circle
1122 Posts

Profile of maps
Damien knows what he is talking about! He just made me r/c old man puppet and it's a work of art that works very well.
the heart is where the magic begins
Visit my website
[www.mascotsandpuppets.com]
TheDummyDoctor
View Profile
New user
U S A
76 Posts

Profile of TheDummyDoctor