The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Info on electromagnets? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2286 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis
So there's a plastic peanut butter jar on the magician's table. Suddenly, it begins to rise and float a few inches off the surface.

Where might I find information on an electromagnet sufficient for something like this? How much power is needed for how much weight pushed a few inches? Is it feasable without wiring your table for 220? I'm thinking also of a variable control and a timer - set the jar down, walk away, and a few seconds later things happen.

Ed
AGMagic
View Profile
Special user
Cailf.
775 Posts

Profile of AGMagic
Ed,
I am no expert on this, but I suspect that you will have a major problem trying to get anything to hover magnetically. I have played with the toys that they sell at museum shops that have a hovering piece and they are a royal pain to get the piece hovering. However, once it is, they tend to be fairly stable.

That said, it should not require much power to levitate an empty plastic peanut butter jar. There are basically two make an electro-magnet stronger, increase the current flow through the wire, or increase the number of windings in the coil. For this application, you will want a coil with many wraps of fine magnet wire. You can make this yourself, but the cost may get pretty high as you are paying for new copper wire. I would guess that you would want several hundred to perhaps a couple of thousand windings, of 24Ga or smaller wire, around an iron core.