The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » Beginner's POV: Street Magic by Paul Zenon (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

The Amazing Pog
View Profile
Veteran user
372 Posts

Profile of The Amazing Pog
Note: I am a beginner magician, this review is written from that perspective.

Title: Street Magic
Author: Paul Zenon
Published: Carlton Books, 2005
Page count: 192

The Bottom Line: This is a great book for the serious beginner. It's given me more bang for my buck than any other starting magic book I own. Some say it's too good.

Review: This is a real treat of a book. Paul Zenon was at the forefront of the UK street magic scene and is a solid performer, so this is written by a man who knows his trade, and his expertise comes through on every glossy, full-colour page. His writing style is great: easy-to-read, clear, a dash of humour and lots of quality tips and hints. Indeed, it's these hints and tips regarding performance that make the book so useful for the beginner - this isn't just a catalogue of easy to do tricks, this is solid material where moves, tricks, routines, patter and tips are all integrated.

Is it easy to follow? Yes. The tricks are explained well and there are plenty of large colour photographs. It could have benefitted from some diagrams, or clearer captions for some photos, but there is little difficulty most of the time (some tricks you'll need to re-read a couple of times, though).