The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Upsetting. Too close to home... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5 [Next]
atouchofmagic1
View Profile
Elite user
473 Posts

Profile of atouchofmagic1
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mobileweb/......713.html

I don't know this girl personally, but I feel for her and her family. I'm shocked to see my small town make national news... It was a consensual relationship but the younger kids parents press charges. Very sad indeed.

-Bobby
Dougini
View Profile
Inner circle
The Beautiful State Of Maine
6724 Posts

Profile of Dougini
Wow, Bobby! That's one for the books! I'm not a fan of the gay lifestyle at all. I'm just beginning to reluctantly accept it. Long story why. That said, today, I don't care what goes on behind closed doors of consenting adults. To each his/her own.

The problem here, is, an 18 year old and a 15 year old. If this was hetero, the same rule would apply. An adult, vs. a minor. The law has them there. However, I agree...this is a travesty. I wonder if the parents realize the impact of what they've put in motion?

Doug
Woland
View Profile
Special user
680 Posts

Profile of Woland
I think in some states there is a leniency in the statutory rape laws if the adult is only a couple of years older than the minor.
lunatik
View Profile
Inner circle
2716 Posts

Profile of lunatik
It's just plain stupidity that the 18 yr old adult put not only themselves, but a minor in this situation.
"Don't let your Dreams become Fantasies"
Chessmann
View Profile
Inner circle
3987 Posts

Profile of Chessmann
Quote:
On 2013-05-20 10:22, Dougini wrote:

The problem here, is, an 18 year old and a 15 year old. If this was hetero, the same rule would apply. An adult, vs. a minor.

This.
My ex-cat was named "Muffin". "Vomit" would be a better name for her. AKA "The Evil Ball of Fur".
LobowolfXXX
View Profile
Inner circle