The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » What are the benefits of learning a stack? Why bother? (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Herr Brian Tabor
View Profile
Special user
Oklahoma City
729 Posts

Profile of Herr Brian Tabor
So this question has been on my mind for a while, ever since I started learning a stack. I'm not a "card guy" per se. When I do card magic, cards get torn, ripped, bent, crimped, folded, cut, burnt, and many other mutilations. It's just my style. In the hands, visual, and no table. Now, when I think of memorized deck work, I don't think of those things. I think of long, drawn out complex deals and piles and yawns. I think of poker hands (also not my style). For those who like longer routines that require multiple perfect faros and large table space and so on this is great! But for the rest of us, why bother learning a memorized stack?

Well, I've played around enough with one now that I know some reasons, and I'll share them with those of you who may be on the fence about learning.

I'm not going to mention how easy it actually is to learn a memorized deck, or specific effects, that's already in this section and answered by more knowledgeable people than me. I'm just going to list some of the benefits to learning a mem deck in general.

1. You're a magician. Every tool at your disposal is valuable, and knowing where every card in the deck is is an amazing tool.

2. Instant out. Forget how the trick works? Make something up on the fly. You already know what card they picked and where it's at.

3. Not able to get that peek at the card? No need, you already know what card they picked.