The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Wallet Advice (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Alden
View Profile
New user
24 Posts

Profile of Alden
Hi guys, I'm new to magic and want to buy my first wallet to use for peeks and also CTW ( I've just ordered Peter Nardi's Extractor and also the Casanova Concept). Both effects allow for a CTW routine. However there are so many wallets out there I really don't know which one to purchase. The Fourseen Wallet looks great but then so do the Espionage and the FI Nitro,I really don't know where to start, any advice would be greatly appreciated,
Many Thanks
Aiden C
brucewilcox
View Profile
Loyal user
Readers advised to disregard most of my
266 Posts

Profile of brucewilcox
Hi Alden,

I may be far from the best person to give an answer on this as I only use CTW on a very limited basis and only in a mentalism context (e.g., load a business card into wallet for a later reveal). I've experimented with a *lot* of wallets, however, and I can share some of the considerations that I've run across:

- Do you care how much the wallet looks like a typical wallet for where you live? For us in the U.S. that usually means a horizontal-format billfold with a pocket for a stack of bills plus slots for credit cards. In my own case I tend to prefer function over form and I don't require a "traditional billfold" design, but that's just me - many insist on what would be considered a "normal looking" wallet that would blend in with everyone else's wallets in the room, and that's totally fine. Either way, you should be comfortable with the appearance of the wallet as that will aid you in being casual as you handle the wallet in front of spectators.