The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Problem with BA (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
TheMagicalMan
View Profile
Loyal user
238 Posts

Profile of TheMagicalMan
I never performed illusions using BA, but now I got into it, and I got Andrew Mayne's Illusions EFX DVD. Fantastic stuff, but most of them use BA. I want to perform a teleportation in 1 second type of illusion, as the one I perform is a huggee pain in the behind. But here is the problem, I'm a beginner in using BA and looking to buy a scaffold. I do a lot of performances in different theaters, different venues, and the theater types are different, so I'M NOT IN CONTROL OF THE CURTAIN and the background. So using BA techniques would be impossible. I'm sure this problem has faced every person that has performed using BA techniques. Additionaly, even if it was the same color as my set up, the color variation and lightness/darkness is sometimes a problem. I thought of using a backdrop but it would be obvious and suspicious if I decide to use a backdrop FOR THAT ILLUSION PARTICULARLY during a part of the show, don't you think ? So if anyone has a solution to this or can guide me, may you please ?

PS: Is using a scaffold a good way since it is inexpensive and effective ?
TK Knight
View Profile
New user
Las Vegas, NV
18 Posts

Profile of TK Knight
I've used BA in many different illusions over the years, and it's always a pain. In the real world, you have at most a few hours to set up, tech and light the show. It always uses so much of my lighting time. Avoid it if you can, especially if you don't have control in the venues.
TK Knight
View Profile
New user
Las Vegas, NV
18 Posts

Profile of TK Knight
Oh, and when you finally get it lit perfect, that's when the spotlight ops accidentally expose it. Enough to drive you mad.