The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Expert Card Technique help!! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MAGICTOM
View Profile
Veteran user
Dallas, Tx
354 Posts

Profile of MAGICTOM
Hello,
I recently decided to expand my knowledge in magic and start to work with cards...
I have purchased Hugard and Braue's "Expert Card Technique" Book and was wondering where to start????

Should I go through the book from front to back and learn the techniques in order? or is this book like Bobo's,

Where I should skip around? I was pretty overwhelmed by the instructions given in the book so far, "kind of difficult to understand" but I am determined! I am fairly new to Card magic, working with coins for about a year and a half..

Is this a good beginners book? or should I go get Royal Road?

Thanks
Tom Defrange Smile
No Man is his craft's master the first day!
J.B. Bobo
cardguy
View Profile
Inner circle
Queens, New York
1171 Posts

Profile of cardguy
If your absolutely new to cards I would read Royal Road first, then Expert Card Technique. But with a little determination, you can learn a lot straight from ECT.

If you find the writing hard to understand then you should invest in the Card College series by Giobbi. Many magicians agree that it is the new standard for beginners, and it is easier to read. Highly recommended. Smile
Frank G. a.k.a. Cardguy
Scott F. Guinn
View Profile
Inner circle
"Great Scott!" aka "Palms of Putty" & "Poof Daddy G"
6586 Posts

Profile of Scott F. Guinn
Tom,

ECT is a bit overwhelming if taken as a whole. But if you take it nice and easy, one concept at a time without worrying about all the stuff you haven't learned yet, you'll do fine.