The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » How to open, then close a short performance ? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

CarpetShark
View Profile
Special user
576 Posts

Profile of CarpetShark
Being a relative novice, I am appealing to the many experts here to explain what routine makes for a good introduction, and which to use as a final 'trick'. I am talking about a short set of non-stop routines, starting by showing apparently empty hands, performing a killer opening, linked to a few other effects, then ending smoothly by magically vanishing all coins.

So, to reiterate, How do you normally start your show, and how do you end it ?
harris
View Profile
Inner circle
Harris Deutsch
8812 Posts

Profile of harris
Openings over the years have include:

flash of fire and a coin appears.
flash of light and a coin appears. (FISM Flash)
Harmonica music...and using harmonica as a wand to produce a coin
small harmonica (1 inch) is used to play a song...and changes to a coin..(ala spellbound

or simpler...

Just say hi, my name is Harris...I'm the 3rd of 2 children..going on to explain that I couldn't do all the things my older brother could, like baseball, football..talk to girls...
but I could do this...coin roll with 1, 2, 3 then 4 coins...

endings

coin(s) to jumbo
coin to grasshopper
coin to soft drink lid (much cheaper than jumbo coins..and practical)
coin to apple..take a bite and walk off--- I used that one a lot during walk around venues.

Normal is in the eye of the beholder...Since my venues and audiences and even myself are not the same being flexible helps. (like use of fire being more frowned on.)
Harris Deutsch aka dr laugh
drlaugh4u@gmail.com
music, magic and marvelous toys
http://magician.org/member/drlaugh4u
doug brewer
View Profile
V.I.P.
1142 Posts

Profile of doug brewer