The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... » » A story that teaches us a lot (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Vlad Grigorescu
View Profile
New user
Romania, Bucharest
95 Posts

Profile of Vlad Grigorescu
Here is a story I read in bad and old hypnosis book from my childhood. Actually, I think this was the only good thing in the book. The story was something like this:

There was a small town baker that was studying hypnosis. He had everything he needed: the looks, the voice and the knowledge but somehow he could not manage to put anyone under. So he decided to pay a visit to a great hypnotist from a near town, for help. The great hypnotist listened to his problem, looked at him, talked to him and got to the conclusion that he had all it takes to do it but could not understand why he had no success.
Then he asked him:
- what do you do for a living?
- I am a baker.
- And do people know you in your town?
- Yes, everyone. I am a well respected baker.
- That's it! That's your problem! I can imagine people in your town talking and laughing at a corner about the baker that tries to do hypnosis.
So the greater hypnotist arranged a meeting with some friends, presented him as the great hypnotist from a 'big name' city and his success with them was great!

I think this story gives us the great secret that makes hypnosis work: authority.
Mindpro
View Profile
Inner circle
9647 Posts

Profile of Mindpro
This has been discussed many times here. This is why in the beginning or training stages, attempting to practice your hypnosis on friends and family almost always results in disappointment or failure. A group or audience of complete strangers increases probability 100%.

What's funny is reading your story my immediate thought was "he's a baker, not a hypnotist!"
Vlad Grigorescu
View Profile
New user
Romania, Bucharest
95 Posts