The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Black Bikes, Anyone? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

lcwright1964
View Profile
Special user
Toronto
569 Posts

Profile of lcwright1964
I am a complete hobbyist and have no need to by my cards buy the case. However, a certain big box retailer happens to sell Bikes in a certain 4-pack--two red, two black--for under 10 bucks, so I have been stocking up on those.

I have learned very quickly here that red Bikes are the performance card of choice--they are universally recognized and are unlikely to be viewed with suspicion by spectators. Blue Bikes seem common enough as well--Ammar seems to use them a bit in the ETMCM series. But I never knew the black ones existed until I saw them marketed in this specially priced 4-pack.

Anyone here ever use or perform with the black ones, or is the colour too uncommon to be comfortably used in serious work?

Right now I practice with the black ones and save the red ones for the time, should it ever come, when I find willing victims who are not my spouse, child, or pets.

As an aside, what to folks do with worn cards? Do you simply trash or recycle them? Donate them to hospitals or retirement homes or community centres? Save them to make double-sided cards, or to practice tricks where cards are destroyed? Save all the 7Ds to carry them around for luck, like Ed Marlo? I have had a deck in my hands for much of the holiday weeks, and it's already dirty and soft. I can imagine that serious performers go through cards a lot quicker.

TIA,

Les
professorwhut
View Profile
Inner circle
Posts R US sold me
1347 Posts

Profile of professorwhut
I like the black bikes a lot, I stocked up on them a few years ago.
I do not feel that they are too far off the common path to use. They have a nice classy look.
However, I use red most of the time.

My used cards are thrown out. Or practice MC fold.