The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Connecting High Wattage Lights in Series (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Matt Adams
View Profile
Special user
Harvest, AL
827 Posts

Profile of Matt Adams
Ok, building a "flash" appearance using lights instead of a flash pot. Slightly embarrassing since I got my degree in electrical engineering - but I NEVER used it (I did computer programming when I was working in the industry). Anyway, I got a question related to electrical work.

I need high wattage lights for the appearance. I've used a 300 or 400 watt bulb on stage before for a shadow tent illusion and that worked well. My question is related to the flash appearance though. I imagine I'll have 6-8 bulbs connected around my illusion and they should flash together for only a second before the girl appears inside my cabinet. So the questions are:

1) Is there some sort of existing "chain" that will allow me to connect these in series or will I need to make one?
2) If they are all connected in series, do I risk tripping the theater's breaker when trying to turn on 6-8 at a shot?

Any help is appreciated. Specifically looking for builders who've done this in the past.

Instagram: @mattadamsministries

Facebook: www.facebook.com/mattadamsministries
magicwatcher2005
View Profile
Elite user
Washington state
446 Posts

Profile of magicwatcher2005
Why would you not go with LED photo flash units instead and save yourself a lot of grief?
Chance Wolf
View Profile
Inner circle
2425 Posts

Profile of Chance Wolf
You may also buy surplus flash units (scrapped from cameras) at about $2 each.
They would run off of batteries and, as a collective. make a very intense flash.
No cables.
Low voltage.
Easy wiring.
and CHEAP!
I can hook you up with a web link if needed.
that's what I would do Smile
Creator of Wacky Wolf Productions & Fine Collectibles

A DECADE of building Magic and we're just getting started!