The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Teaching a Magic Class (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
robwar0100
View Profile
Inner circle
Buy me some newspapers.Purchase for me 1 Gazette and
1747 Posts

Profile of robwar0100
This is my first time popping into the beginners section. I have been studying and performing for more than three decades (man, am I getting old!).

I love magic with ordinary objects (especially rope) and mentalism (probably because it is virtually prop-less).

I have been wanting to teach a magic class at a local arts center in Northeast Ohio for the past few years, but I never made it a priority ... until now.

I have been working on an outline for the class, which the director wants to run about six weeks.

Here is what I have so far:

1. Magic Show / Intro to Magic (Perform things I will be teaching, talk about magic as entertainment)
2. Card Basics (Grips, Cuts and Shuffles)
3. Card Magic (Key Card, Self-Working)
4. Money Magic
5. Magic w/Ordinary Objects (Napkins, Paper, Rubber Bands, Toothpicks)
6. ?????

While this is a basic outline of what I have been working on, I have no problem changing anything.

I need your input, and I would appreciate it. Here are some things I would like to know:

1. Do you teach a magic class? If so, can you point me to any resources or offer me advice?

2. Are you a beginner in magic? If so, what types of tricks would be good to teach? What got you interested?

3. Is there anything that would be helpful for me to know as I embark on this endeavor?

Thanks so much,

Bobby
"My definition of chance is my hands on the wheel," Greg Long.
MRSharpe
View Profile
Special user
Never a dull moment with
940 Posts

Profile of MRSharpe