The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Deceptive Steps (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MagicRhett
View Profile
New user
Cumberland, MD
54 Posts

Profile of MagicRhett
Hello All,

I'm new to the forum, and hope I'm posting this in the correct area. I had a question about deceptive steps. I build illusions for my own show and other magicians on my area. I only build public domain, or my own design. I am building a set of deceptive steps, and another magician in my area wants me to build him a set as well. My questions is, how much do you all thin mis a fair price to charge? I'm obviously not a well known builder like William Kennedy or others, but I do use good quality wood and aluminum when building. I don't want to ask too much or too little. I have never built steps to sell before so I'm not sure how to price them, besides the material. So any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11159 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker
A few things to consider, as well as the basics...

If you would be building for others in your area, they are likely considering themselves friends. As such, they may be thinking they can get a "friend" discount... a better deal than if they went elsewhere. This alone will help you find qualified leads and weed out those who might rob you of valuable time (and $$ in the form of labor).

I don't build illusions anymore, but I do build magic props. If you expect to make any money and consider this to be a "real" job (even if only temporary), you'll have to figure the three factors present in almost all manufacturing... cost of materials, cost of overhead, and cost of labor.