The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Hello Penny! (Any tips for my first stage performance?) (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Alexxander
View Profile
Elite user
Frankfurt, Germany
423 Posts

Profile of Alexxander
Hello fellow mentalists!
I've been reading on this forum for over 12 months now and I've decided to finally register.
I thought it might be a good idea to introduce myself, so here it goes!

My name is Alexander (Who would have thought?) and I'm 22 years old. I'm living in Frankfurt, germany - so if my english is a little bit off, forgive me please Smile
I've been studying magic for about two years now and ended up being interested mainly in mentalism.
I started by reading books which are recommended by a lot of users here (Corinda, Annemann, Cassidy, Maven, Banachek etc.).
While I was reading these books, I became very fascinated by this very special form of performance art.
So fascinated indeed, that I started working on a first strictly mentalism stage performance, which I will do in October.

I know that a lot of knowledgable people frequent this forum, so I'm very open to any kind of tips or pieces of advice anyone might offer.
I will be performing a short set on a cabaret/open stage-evening at my university. There will be about 200 people.

I planned on doing two routines, David Hoy's Bold Book Test with borrowed books and Larry Becker's Sneak Thief.

This is my planned structure:

- Short intro by the host
- I introduce myself and start by doing the old "move your right foot clockwise and draw a 6 in the air"-bit to get everyone involved
- I start talking about mind reading and introduce the books
- I point to a person which seemded to enjoy the opening bit and get her to stand up and join me on stage
- I ask her if we spoke beforehand etc.
- The boot test routine
- I thank the spectator and send her back to her seat