The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You Oughta Be In Pictures » » YouTube or Vimeo? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Poof-Daddy
View Profile
Inner circle
Considering Stopping At Exactly
5116 Posts

Profile of Poof-Daddy
Does anyone know the main differences between these such as password protected vids, mobile device usability, ease of use...? I have a free YouTube "channel" but don't mind going to Vimeo and getting the $50 a year plan to password protect content. On the other hand, Vimeo seems to hold a lot of "order" over what you can post compared to YouTube being like "the old west" and I like a little freedom of how and what I post. (Not really exposure but commentary on the importance of misdirection and certain patter while "X" move is executed.)

Also, can you password protect YouTube vids or make them links that only the people you send it to can use it? I am new to the video end of magic. There is some stuff I want to post, a couple original and some others with "different handlings" that magicians may appreciate but I don't want it out there in "YouTube magician kiddyland Smile for all to see" just people I personally give the link to.

Thanks for any help. I do have a pretty good handle on computers Smile and conversion to different formats .avi .m4p .H264 .xvid .vidx. ... Just new to where to put it out there. There are also some personal vids I want to add to my blog about my cancer battle on my wordpress blog be it embedded video or links to password protected links where my followers could access.
Cancer Sux - It is time to find a Cure

Don't spend so much time trying not to die that you forget how to live - H's wife to H on CSI Miami (paraphrased).

Smile Smile
RobertlewisIR
View Profile
Veteran user
Colorado
367 Posts

Profile of RobertlewisIR