The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Reading body language (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

dd123
View Profile
New user
55 Posts

Profile of dd123
I am currently studying body language (before moving onto Lorayne's Superpower Memory), just out of personal interest more than anything else. However it has got me wondering if anyone uses such a skill as part of their mentalism act at all? If so, how useful is it and how is it best put to use? I have obviously read the muscle reading section in 39 Steps, however I feel that this is a little different. But please correct me if I am wrong.
Many thanks, Duncan.
mastermindreader
View Profile
V.I.P.
Seattle, WA
12589 Posts

Profile of mastermindreader
Body Language is often used as a premise, but only rarely as an actual method. You'll learn a much more practical and real skill by reading Lorayne's book.
MatthewSims
View Profile
Special user
776 Posts

Profile of MatthewSims
Body language is extremely useful in mentalism, if for no other reason than to be familiar with it for when the subject comes up in discussion. Many routines rely solely on body language for them to work. Patrick Reford's Prevaricator and Jerome's Thought Channel are testaments to this.

A wonderful and classic text on non verbal communication in regards to mentalism is Banchek's Psychological Subleties.

Now bear in mind, a lot of what is out there on the subject has to be taken with a grain of salt. A lot of it is hype. Things like eye accessing cues in NLP...there is just no evidence for this. Yes someone may break eye contact and go into a "mental search" for information...but all that is telling us is that they are thinking about something.