The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » The Lawrence of Afghanistan (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5~6~7 [Next]
General_Magician
View Profile
Special user
United States
707 Posts

Profile of General_Magician
Here is a video of a special forces soldier who earned the Silver Star in Afghanistan in battle and was regarded as the "Lawrence of Afghanistan." He had a fall from grace in the military because he broke some of the Army regulations. Personally, before my deployment, I studied Sun Tzu's Art of War, the manual written by General David Petraus on Counter-insurgency warfare as well as some books written by John H. Poole such as "Militant Tricks" and "Tactics of the Crescent Moon: Militant Muslim Combat Methods" but I never got around to reading TE Lawrence's book "Seven Pillars of Wisdom" written by the Lawrence of Arabia himself. Here is a video of the interview: http://news.yahoo.com/video/lawrence-afg......434.html
"Never fear shadows. They simply mean there is a light shining somewhere nearby." -unknown

Company Website
Facebook Business Page
Twitter Business Page
Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21245 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
Can't learn much from books anyhow.
Danny Doyle
<BR>Semper Occultus
<BR>In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act....George Orwell
landmark
View Profile
Inner circle
within a triangle
5194 Posts

Profile of landmark
Seven Pillars of Wisdom is one of the great fictionalized accounts of history. Well worth reading.

Lawrence became a broken man when he realized that the war to win independence for Arab peoples was a scam perpetrated by his British commanders and politicians. They had no intention of allowing true independence from the Turkish empire. It was all about maintaining British control.

But as Danny said, you can't learn much from books anyhow.
AllAboutMagic
View Profile