The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » Ian Rowland's "Full Facts of Cold Reading", "The Dance" by Brad Henderson (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

DJP
View Profile
Veteran user
London
391 Posts

Profile of DJP
Sorry about this, but just a quick question to clear up a matter.

This is not a "which is better" but a "what will what cover".

I have no experience of Cold Reading, and thus will cut straight to the chase:

I've read in forum's that Mr Rowland's book is ideal for learning technique and methodolgy and that Mr Henderson's book covers a vast amout of (personally I love) theory, however does not delve into methods in as much detail as Mr Rowland's.

For a novice in this field, (e.g. not wishing to splash out on 2 books at once)

Which book will serve me as an good introduction to cold reading which I will find applicable, but enabling me to appreciate the code of ethics too?

Thanks in advance

Dave
David
martini
View Profile
Special user
delta, pennsylvania
543 Posts

Profile of martini
Greetings Dave: I have not seen The Dance so I cannot really comment on it, but I have Ian's book "Full Facts of Cold Reading" and can honestly say that this is one of the best bargains out there. Do a search here on the Café as this has been covered before.
All the Best
Marty
xanatos
View Profile
Regular user
Wilbraham, MA
144 Posts

Profile of xanatos
Hi Dave: I'd say that without a good appreciation of HOW to properly use the techniques in a book like FFofCR, they will be of little value. While I have FFofCR on order, I have already read The Dance, and it is EXCELLENT. There are actually two reading formats given in the back which may help you and can easily be adapted to almost any reader's style.