The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... » » Studying Hypnosis (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TheUltimateSudo
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of TheUltimateSudo
Hi
I am studying hypnosis, but so far haven't properly had the chance to practice (I've tried the odd time but haven't been successful)
I have read quite a few books on the subject, and I was wondering if anyone could give advice as to anything I'm missing/what I might be doing wrong?
I've read the following books:
  • Hypnotism and Self-Hypnosis - Ralph Slater
  • Hypnotism - Canon
  • The truth about Hypnotism - Sidney Petrie with Robert B Stone
  • The Science of Hypnotism - Young
  • The Encyclopedia of Genuine Stage Hypnotism - Ormond McGill
  • Reality Is Plastic - Anthony Jaquin
  • Tricks of the Mind - Derren Brown (If you count it - there is a section on Hypnosis
  • The Confessions of a Hypnotist - Jonathan Royle (I haven't finished reading this one)

So I have done a lot of research, and know lots of the theory around hypnosis. just I'm not getting success putting it into practice - I'm trying on fellow 16-year-olds at school, who have known me since I was 11 (before I got my interest in hypnosis) would that have an impact on success rates?

I was just wondering if anyone culd offer any advice?
Also, What are the laws/regulations with regards to Hypnosis in the UK - in what cases is it allowed on stage? do you need licenses? Is it allowed out of theatre without a license?
I'm not trying to start a debate here, just asking for informativer reasons - I'm pretty sure this fits within the rules for this forum

Thanks
Robert Soane
Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21263 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
Trying on other 16 year olds who have known you since you were 11 is the first problem. They already know you as NOT a hypnotist and breaking past that can often be impossible.