The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » 2 Small But Exciting Things:-). (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

KenRyan
View Profile
Elite user
465 Posts

Profile of KenRyan
I wanted to share 2 quick things that happened to me yesterday because they were so exciting.

Thing one: I was learning one of the "Fundamental" coin routines (listed by CoinVanish.com), the Bobo Switch. This one being so simple, the 2 pictures in Bobo, along with his explanation, seemed to explain it clearly. So I tried it a few times with no patter or context - just as a building-block move. After trying it for about 15 minutes, I asked my wife if she would mind observing to see if the effect worked. She watched and when I opened my hand the 3rd time with the dark coin, her face genuinely registered astonishment! What a feeling!

I'm just a new noob at all of this, and these little things feel like big steps forward for me. So I find them awesome. I am aware, however (mainly through reading Tarbell and Giobbi) that true magic is not the trick itself, but the art, the presentation, the understanding of each effect and why it works. And VERY often, it's in the details - the steps in between that are NOT the specific effect. Hugely important things that may seem trivial; such as pointing at where you want the spectator to look, not saying things like "see, my hand is empty," but simply showing them; holding the hand WITH the coin in a natural way; practicing ACTUALLY tossing or placing a coin to see what it really looks like before attempting the illusion. There are so many other things too. I think I'll put up a separate post in this forum about all these seemingly ancillary things that actually are the most important for other noobs like me. But what all that did for me yesterday was...