We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Mental? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ALEXANDRE
View Profile
Inner circle
2945 Posts

Profile of ALEXANDRE
I'm curious, how many "New to Magic" are inclined to go the Mentalism route?

Or are most here sticking with straight up Magic?

Ever since I was young I've been fascinated with the Tarot, Pendulums, Oracles, Fortune Telling, Psychic Phenomena, and other metaphysical mysteries so it was a natural progression to Mentalism from early on. Being exposed to Kreskin and Uri Geller as a kid also made an impact, I loved watching those guys, wild stuff, and I wanted to be able to do what they were doing.

I'm also very big into Bizarre Magic.

Smile
Mortimer Graves
View Profile
Special user
New Orleans, Louisiana, U.S.A.
556 Posts

Profile of Mortimer Graves
Before I was a magician, I was a professional reader.

When I got into magic, I passed over pretty much the whole of mentalism, because it all seemed transparent; I assumed it would never go over without being busted and ripped to shreds by an audience.

In my case, I think I was right. At the time, I had the magic bug bad, and all of my attention was on learning technique. I would have sucked at mentalism, and done the art a great disservice.

Now I'm mainly focused on mentalism, but it took me learning that magic and the related arts aren't all about sleight of hand and "fooling them" to really get a start in it. It's a horse of a completely different color.

In fact, learning to be a mentalist has even made me a better magician. When I do straight magic now, people don't stare at my hands, they actually get into what I'm saying. It's become far more entertaining for all involved, and I enjoy it all a lot more.