The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Learning to cold read (8 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Ish70
View Profile
New user
38 Posts

Profile of Ish70
Hello all!

I'm an amateur magician looking to expand my knowledge. Where are some good starting points for learning basic mentalidm and cold reading techniques?

Thanks in advance.
Tom Jorgenson
View Profile
Inner circle
LOOSE ANGLES, CALIFORNIA
4452 Posts

Profile of Tom Jorgenson
Welcome to the Café. Yours is a common question, and the best answer anyone here can give is for you to use the Café's Search Function.

There are many many topics and threads on this, and the various threads will give you much good information. Reading the many answers will give you more information than the few suggestions that may pop up here.

Happy hunting, and again, welcome to the Café.
We dance an invisible dance to music they cannot hear.
truman
View Profile
Special user
635 Posts

Profile of truman
Ish70,

Take a look at Bob Cassidy's "The Thirty-Nine Steps to Mentalism:"
http://www.lybrary.com/thirtynine-steps-mentalism-a-10.html

You mentioned that you're an amateur magician, so you'll feel right at home when you find that Bob has "The Amateur Magician’s Handbook" on the list.

Best of luck,
Truman
The_MetalMaster
View Profile
Loyal user
269 Posts

Profile of The_MetalMaster
My first cold reading books were Richard Webster's Quick and Effective Cold Reading, Psychometry A-Z, and Ron Martin's Palm Reader's Notebook.
Scott Soloff
View Profile
Special user
Philadelphia, PA
960 Posts

Profile of Scott Soloff
Quote:
On Jan 4, 2015, The_MetalMaster wrote:
My first cold reading books were Richard Webster's Quick and Effective Cold Reading, Psychometry A-Z, and Ron Martin's Palm Reader's Notebook.

"Spoon feeding in the long run teaches us nothing but the shape of the spoon."
'Curiouser and curiouser."
mastermindreader